We look back on Renault’s involvement in the FIA Formula E Championship, a highly successful five-year adventure!

A pioneer in the field of mobility of the future and an expert in motorsport, Renault first entered the innovative all-electric category in 2013 as technical partner.

Thanks to its expertise in designing and optimising electrical and electronics systems, the Spark-Renault SRT_01E single-seaters were rapidly reliable and quick from a technological and sporting point of view.

At the same time, Renault increased its commitment and investment in the category by becoming the title sponsor of the e.dams-Renault team, managed by Jean-Paul Driot and Alain Prost.

And so the early chapters of the history of the championship were written… On 13 September 2014, Nicolas Prost and e.dams-Renault claimed the first ever pole position in Beijing. It did not take long for the team to taste success in the races: Sébastien Buemi won in Punta del Este, Monaco and London whilst Nicolas Prost took victory in Miami. Having won the team title ahead of the final race, e.dams-Renault nonetheless saw Sébastien Buemi miss out on the driver’s championship by just one point.

The second season saw several new manufacturers join the championship. Formula E stopped being a one-make series, but Renault continued to dominate the category. Wins in Beijing, Punta del Este and Berlin enabled Sébastien Buemi to bounce back and secure the drivers’ title after a thrilling, action-packed finale. The team made it a clean sweep: Renault e.dams won both titles thanks to Nicolas Prost’s two race wins in London.

Having won three titles in just two years, Renault e.dams had no intention of stopping there…

Back to top